The Governor’s School STEM Awards (the Awards) is an annual awards program overseen by the Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation and administered by Scitech. The Awards recognise and celebrate Western Australian primary and secondary schools that demonstrate excellence in leadership, advocacy, engagement and achievements in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education.

The Awards support the Government’s State STEM skills strategy by highlighting the importance of developing a whole-of-school STEM culture where STEM learning is embraced by the school principal, leadership team and teachers with a resulting positive impact on students, parents and the community.

In 2020 two awards will be presented to each of the primary and secondary school categories:

  • First prize - Leadership Excellence Award ($2000 prize)
  • Runner up - Meritorious Leadership Award ($1000 prize)

Winning schools also receive an invitation to visit Government House, and all finalist schools receive a visit to Scitech for up to 60 students or a selection of Scitech DIY Science Kits.

Congratulations to the 2020 finalist schools:

  • Brookman Primary School (Langford) 
  • Sacred Heart Primary School (Highgate) 
  • Tambrey Primary School (Karratha) 
  • Wembley Primary School (Wembley) 
  • Ashdale Secondary College (Darch) 
  • Cecil Andrews College (Seville Grove)
  • Hampton Senior High School (Morley)

Key dates in 2020

The 2020 Governor’s School STEM Awards program is currently underway. Key dates for the 2020 Awards program are:

  • Monday 22 June 2020 – Applications open
  • Monday 3 August 2020 – Applications close
  • September 2020 – Finalists announced
  • November 2020 – Winners announced

Best of luck to all applicants in this year’s Awards.


For more information about the Awards and how to apply, please visit Scitech or contact

Governor's School STEM Awards 2020 logo

Also in this section