On 4 July 2018, the Hon Dave Kelly, Minister for Innovation and ICT, announced a new Games Industry Growth Pilot to help connect the Western Australian games industry with the global market and encourage growth of the local industry. The announcement can be viewed here.

The Games Industry Pilot forms part of the WA Government’s New Industries Fund, which is supporting new and emerging businesses in WA to create jobs and diversify the economy.

The Games Industry Growth Pilot includes:

  • a new International Access Pass program that is providing grants of up to $5,000 to individuals and $10,000 for a team of two to travel to major games industry conferences;
  • commercialisation skilling for International Access Pass recipients so they can make the most of the business networking opportunities; and
  • sponsorship to showcase WA’s games industry at major industry events.
Round 2 of the International Access Pass program has now closed for applications.  

For more information visit www.newindustries.wa.gov.au/iap

2019 Interactive WA Surveys

The 2019 Interactive WA Surveys will provide a snapshot of WA people and businesses working in interactive across all sectors in WA including games and immersive. This information is useful for Government to understand how to work with industry. It is also useful for industry to have metrics that explain what is happening in WA, including where and in what kinds of fields.

More information and links to the surveys is available at http://www.newindustries.wa.gov.au/interactiveWAsurveys

Also in this section