governor_lesmurdie_schoolThe Governor’s School STEM Awards (Awards) were established in 2015 to recognise the support and commitment of school principals and leadership teams in developing their schools' science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education programs. In doing so, the Awards aim to raise awareness of the importance of STEM education among school leadership, and incentivise them to support their teachers in undertaking STEM initiatives. 

These Awards identify high quality outcomes and approaches in STEM subjects as well as in the way STEM teaching is integrated across learning areas.

The department extends its congratulations to all participating schools and thanks Her Excellency for championing this initiative celebrating school achievements in STEM. More information can be found on the Government House website.

2017 Awards

Applications for the 2017 Governor's School STEM Awards closed on 22 August 2017.

Applications will be assessed by the judging panel and finalists announced at the end of September. The judges will visit the finalist schools in the week of 23 October, and the winners will be announced at a ceremony at Government House on 27 November.

The 2017 Governor's School STEM Awards were launched by Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC, Governor of Western Australia, during an event at Scitech on 4 April. The event was attended by members of the education sector, industry, STEM providers and Government. The Minister for Science Dave Kelly MLA and Minister for Education and Training Sue Ellery MLC announced the opening of the awards via a joint media statement.

Be sure to check this page and the Government House website for updates.


Other useful information

Examples and information about approaches to STEM being implemented in other WA schools can be found at the following links:

Also, the 2016 Governor’s School STEM Award recipients, St Mary’s Anglican Girls’ Junior School, Rosalie Primary School and John Curtin College of the Arts have kindly agreed to mentor or support other schools and applicants in the STEM Awards. Please contact the following people:


For more information about the Governor's School STEM awards please contact or telephone +61 8 9222 0743.

Also in this section